top of page

If it can be done, you can do it



The availability here is amazing. For example, I saw a guy selling a few doors on the street the other day. Incredibly useful, right? Where do we buy our doors in the US? Is there a door store? I don’t even know. Or another example. In big cities in North America, if I didn’t own a car and none of my friends owned one either, and I had to transport a bunch of big plants a half-mile, I really wouldn’t know what to do. But in Dakar, it took 2 minutes of negotiation and a buck-fifty worth of CFA to convince a cab driver to jam my house’s full contents of houseplants in his trunk, and trundle down the dirt roads to our friend’s house, where I will leave them for safe-keeping while Nigeria swallows me up once again. MH (Mamelles, Dakar)

5 views
bottom of page